Welcome Foodies!

“One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating.” – Luciano Pavarotti

Hello everyone! I decided to start with a quote to get your stomach churning and mouth watering! If you didn’t guess from the title, this blog will involve quite a bit of food.

My name is Arantxa Moreno, and I am excited to be writing my first blog.

So here’s a little about me: I go to school at UNC Chapel Hill. My major is Advertisement in the School of Journalism and Mass Communications. I was born in Madrid, Spain and was raised in a Brazilian home. I moved to Miami, FL, at a young age.

Being raised in an international home, I have always had an appreciation for quality and exotic food. My parents have Lebanese, Portuguese, Brazilian, and Spanish roots. These cultures all share a quality of life involving the three F’s: friends, food, and family. Growing up, my parents valued the time we spent together while eating. Most times, we talk about what we were going to eat for dinner while we are still eating lunch! You could definitely call us foodies!

When I moved to Chapel Hill for college, I was surprised at the abundance and diversity in restaurants. Yet, I could not find one voice that focused in the Triangle area specifically. Where were all the foodies? As the months and years went by, I realized the hidden gems in this area. Though I am not a “food expert” nor am I claiming to be a “food critic,” I will share a few of my favorite spots and hidden gems. I hope I can steer you clear of the big traps and no no’s of this area.

Bon appetite!

 

Leave a Reply

